Hot Sun in the Summertime

Well, here it is, August already. Summer’s on the downswing. The heat and drought have certainly taken a toll this year. Especially in an un-air-conditioned home. My wife is oddly proud of the fact that she has never lived in a home with air-conditioning, but there were a couple of times she suggested sleeping in the restaurant. Still, we persevered through a record high of 97 — that’s inside, downstairs. I’ve had to stand the heat even when I’m out of the kitchen.

My wife tells me today is Chic-fil-a Appreciation Day. Her one sister is planning to go over to Indy and show her support. Her other sister is going on Friday when apparently there’s the Chic-fil-a In-your-face Day.  I doubt either of these events will have any impact on business at Harry & Bud’s.  For the record, we don’t give big donations to anybody. In order to do that, we’d have to have some leftover income at the end of the month.  My wife says I have hit on a business model that’s 100% franchise-proof.  And one that uses an extraordinary plate and utensil to customer ratio. She brings this up mostly when she’s helping do the dishes, so she’s got a vested interest.

One thought on “Hot Sun in the Summertime

  1. Didn’t see an email on your website, so I figured I’d drop a comment here about how much I enjoyed the meal I had Monday afternoon. Probably one of the best I’ve ever eaten. It’s inspiring to see someone so obviously talented who does something wonderful and unique with it. Almost wish I lived in Indy so I could drop by on a regular basis. All the best.

Leave a Reply

